Rainer Maria Rilke,  aus “Larenopfer” 1895

 

In dubiis

I

Es dringt kein Laut bis her zu mir

von der Nationen wildem Streite,

ich stehe ja auf keiner Seite;

denn Recht ist weder dort noch hier.

 

Und weil ich nie Horaz vergaß,

bleib gut ich aller Welt und halte

mich unverbrüchlich an die alte

aurea mediocritas.

 

II

Der erscheint mir als der Größte,

der zu keiner Fahne schwört,

und, weil er vom Teil sich löste,

nun der ganzen Welt gehört.

 

Ist sein Heim die Welt; es misst ihm

doch nicht klein der Heimat Hort;

denn das Vaterland, es ist ihm

dann sein Haus im Heimatsort.

 

In doubt

I

No sound nor sense I hear

of the nations’ angry strife.

No side I favour, only life,

for justice is not there nor here.

 

I never can forget Horace,

and show good will to every class,

observing  wise old maxims as

aurea mediocritas[1].

 

II

I hold a person in esteem

who will not swear to flags unfurled,

remaining free from every scheme,

belonging to the open world.

 

And be the globe a home for all,

one misses still the native earth,

the homespace, intimate and small,

for such is patriotism worth.

                                                                        © translated by Alfred de Zayas

 


[1] Rilke is not praising mediocrity – far from it.  Horace’s aurea mediocritas means the “golden mean” and draws from the old Greek tradition of moderation and proportionality – metron ariston, meden agan.

